Monthly Archives: March 2016

Human Drizzle: The Playlist, March 2016

Short and sweet playlist this month, with loadza good new music to get your teeth into over the Easter bank holiday weekend.

A strong return to the game from David August, Lindstrom and Detroit Swindle. New labels from Kidnap Kid and South London radio/party No Bad Days, a sparkling remix from Four Tet and dreamy cuts from Seb Wildblood and The Range.

Most noticeably Laurence Guy’s popped up on the blog with a storming start to 2016. In just under two months he’ll be heading things up for our party at the Bermondsey Social Club on Friday 13th May. More details on that intimate affair here.

For now, tuck into this and enjoy x



Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

NAO – Fool To Love

Having had her ‘February 15’ EP on repeat for pretty much all the time since it came out, new music from Nao was welcomed with open arms…

To our relief/delight ‘Fool To Love’ continues in the rich neo-soul vein that Nao mines so effectively. As the second teaser (‘Bad Blood’ being another emotional, synth-laden modern ballad) for her debut album, again put out on Little Tokyo Recordings, it also acts as the perfect promo for her current European tour. Several dates are already sold out but there’s still plenty of reachable gigs for those who want to hear those vocals live and unfiltered.

Go on then, here’s ‘Bad Blood’ too:

Tagged , , ,

The Range – Copper Wire

The Range has shared this pensive and sparkling number featuring a sample from 13-year-old-at-the-time rapper Zuddy Krak.

Another reason to get excited about the release of his sophomore album, ‘Potential’, which is due out later this week and features voices of people the Brooklyn-based producer discovered on YouTube. Check the trailer for the album below:


Selvy – POPS EP

The South London radio show and regular party No Bad Days are onto a winner with the inaugural release on their newly-formed record label. It comes in the form of a four track EP entitled ‘POPS’ and it’s penned by Polish producer Selvy.

Whether it’s the synth stabs of ‘Basics’ or the more cosmic title track ‘POPS, there’s something for everyone here, the stand-out for us being the dramatic ‘Wishing Well’.

Take a listen below, pre-order the EP here, and then head over to Hollick’s SoundCloud for more on No Bad Days from one of the co-founders.


Hannah Lucia – Don’t Hold Out (L-Vis 1990 Remix)

We were borderline obsessed with the sultry vocals of Hannah Lucia’s single from last year, ‘Don’t Hold Out’. Hence the feeling of joy when we heard L-Vis 1990 was gonna give the atmospheric original a spaced-out and funk-fuelled reboot.

Head over to iTunes to add it to your collection.

Laurence Guy – Thinking Of You EP

Laurence Guy is on a roll!

Fresh from his popular ‘Kojak’ EP released on the excellent Church label, LG has hit the ground running this year with no signs of slowing down. He’s dropped a two-track EP on the Leipzigian label, Rose Records. The title track above, ‘Thinking Of You’, is a fast paced banger set on top of melancholy piano lines and vintage samples.

On the flip side, ‘Hutch’, an equally energetic number that builds slowly on strings and high-hats:

The good news is this you can see this rising star in London real soon as you’ll be glad to hear we’ve recruited him to head things up for our next party down at the Bermondsey Social Club. Tickets are currently just £6, reserve your space on the intimate dance floor now.

And lastly if you missed it, have a listen to one of LG’s other recent releases on Fort Romeau and Ali Tillett’s Cin Cin label, ‘Ubik’. It’s a marvel, get on the pre-orders for the 12″ that also features Todd Osborn here.

Tagged , , ,

Tourist – Run

Ahead of the release of his début album ‘U’, London-based Tourist drops the loop-heavy, feel-good ‘Run’ to add to the anticipation.

The album’s out 6th May on Monday Records, get your pre-orders in here.


Lindstrom – Closing Shot

Lindstrom really knows which buttons to press doesn’t he?

Tuck into over eight minutes of feel-good, synth-laden goodness from the Norwegian who just keeps on giving. Single out 11th March; stay tuned for a four-track EP later on in the year…


Seb Wildblood – :~^

The one with the emoticon.

Release details unknown for this one, but ‘:~^’ is yet another considered and well-orchestrated gem from the Church label co-founder. A perfect remedy for any of those post-weekend blues creeping in.

Check out SW’s recent ‘U’ release available both digitally and on cassette, and for anyone from the other side of the pond look sharp, he’s got a string of shows in the US and Canada later this month. Exciting times.


Krywald & Farrer – Top Pocket Persies

Percolate residents Krywald & Farrer are slowly establishing themselves not only as top notch selectors, warming up dancefloors for heavyweights including Floating Points, Jackmaster and Moodyman to name a few, but also for penning their own tunes. They’ve got skills in the production department and their recent ‘Top Pocket Persies’ EP is a good case in point.

The stand-out track for us is the entrancing ‘Spoon Billed Sandpiper’, though the other two tracks are no less worth checking out – ‘Is That Saeed’ is a jazzy, fidgety number and the soulful deep house of ‘Blue Brother’ closes the EP, the latter ending with a sample that hones in on their world music inclinations from previous EP, ‘The People’s Asafo’. Similarly, worth your time.

Rob Da Bank’s very own dance-focussed imprint Silver Bear Recordings are overseeing the business side of things for this release. ‘Top Pocket Persies’ hit the shelves last Friday.

And for the longer listen, this mix they did for Stamp The Wax should be bookmarked, it’s top:


Tagged ,
%d bloggers like this: