Monthly Archives: June 2013

London Grammar – Wasting My Young Years EP

As if they weren’t already one of the most hyped bands in the UK at the moment, London Grammar’s collaboration with Disclosure will undoubtedly make superstars of them yet. ‘Help Me Lose My Mind’ is the wonderfully laidback final track on ‘Settle’, spruced up considerably by the injection of Hannah from LG’s verging-on-the-gothic vocals. Even though their input on Disclosure’s track is noteworthy, it’s the London trio’s new ‘Wasting My Young Years’ EP we’d like to draw your attention to. The title track has already firmly secured itself as one of our favourite pop tracks of the year:

The EP comes with not one but four remixes. Even though the other three are worth hunting down, it’s innovative beat maker Star Slinger’s effort that really shines for us.

Catch them at loadsa festivals this Summer before a UK tour in October…

Tagged ,

Maya Jane Coles – Everything (Breach Remix)

The unstoppable Breach tries his hand at remixing fellow Londoner Maya Jane Coles’ ‘Everything’, with insanely slick results. The original, featuring Karin Park on vocals, is undoubtedly one of the stand out tracks of the first two quarters, but this remix from the chap they also call Ben Westbeech is a game changer for the tune. Once you get through the simmering intro, a hefty drop leads you into a minefield of stuttered vocals and shimmering synths. Totally infectious, this.

Daftside – Random Access Memories

Question: How do you make the biggest album of the year bigger, better and much, much cooler? Answer: You hand it to Chilean/New Yorker producer supremo Nicolas Jaar to give it the once over. The complete once over. Under the moniker Daftside, and with the help of usual sidekick Dave Harrington, he has infused Daft Punk’s Random Access Memories with his atmospheric sound and in doing so, has made the original into even more of a dance record. It being Nicolas Jaar, this is a darker and slower paced interpretation of Guy and Thomas’s funky original record, which, hate it or love it, has taken the music world by storm this year. Like his Space is Only Noise album in 2011, this is a deep reimagining, and one that can often appear to be quite inaccessible. At times, it’s hard to think that he actually took any inspiration at all from RAM. But over the course of the album, he sucks you in and it is ultimately rewarding. ‘Doin’ it right’, ‘Instant Crush’ and ‘Give Life Back to Music’ stand out, but really the album needs to be listened to once through. It truly is a brilliant piece of work.

Claude Speeed – Inside (Sonar 2013)

Quick post, long tune.

We’re always on the look-out for LuckyMe output, and that stretched as far as what could ungenerously be called the interval music at Red Bull Music Academy’s SonarDome stage (at Sonar Festival, duh) last week. Claude Speeed (who’s also a RBMA graduate) has put together 17 minutes of theatrical electronica. A symphony for festival down-time:

It’s almost, ALMOST, like we were there.

Tagged , ,

Clean Bandit – Dust Clears

Regular readers will know that we’re borderline obsessed with Clean Bandit. They’re back with another banger and, as you’d expect, the video for ‘Dust Clears’ is a work of real beauty. It’s hard to say what we like best about them: the combination of classical strings and 90s house rhythm section shouldn’t work this well, their hooks are implausibly catchy, and the videos are just more inventive and elegant than pretty much anything else, ever. What other music video have you seen recently that contains an ice-skating priest? Exactly. And that’s not to mention the dancing. Just watch it, basically.

Detroit Swindle – Break Up To make up EP

Lars and Maarten of Detroit Swindle are hot right now. White hot. They’re back again with the ‘Break Up To Make Up’ EP, which is the début release on their very own label, Heist Recordings. The second track on the EP – ‘The Make Up’ – is a slice of summer house perfection, causing anyone who listens to it to do this uncontrollably for hours until they pass out. Probably. As you may have noticed from our inability to stop posting about them (ladies and gentlemen of the jury, exhibits A and B) we really cannot get enough of these two. It’s even stopped bothering us that they’re not from Detroit. We hope the preview tides you over until Monday, when you can get your mitts on the full shebang.

Tagged ,

Navid Izadi – Feelin’ Purple (Soul Clap Remix)

At the weekend we were treated to a truly majestic set from the Wolf + Lamb DJs at East London’s Found Festival. We’re still reeling from the decision to drop Ultra Nate’s ‘Free’ as a set closer; it was inspired and brought proceedings to a close in fine fashion.

We were delighted to see that this week sees another release from the Brooklyn-based music collective, and it’s brought to you in the form of an EP from San Fran man Navid Izadi. Our pick of the release is Soul Clap’s remix of the infectious ‘Feelin’ Purple’:

Once that earworm has crawled its way into your head, try an original of his, ‘Crew Is Stayin’ (Y’all Gotta Go’). It’s just about the coolest thing. You can purchase it, and the rest of the EP here.

Du Tonc – Rise

We’ve told you once, we’ve told you twice, and so we’ll tell you thrice.

Du Tonc, the side project from Mighty Mouse and Matt Van Schie from Van She, are ones to follow. They have struck a lovely chord again with ‘Rise’. It’s their third single to date and is a catchy, sweeping disco track that’s going to be released on their own label Nightfilm. For a limited time only however, it’s yours for free here. Catch them on both sides of the pond over the summer on their mammoth tour; see their website for details.

Henry Saiz – Fill Me Up (Essáy’s Run Away Remix)

“All the best songs are sad ones”, claims Charlie Sisters in Patrick de Witt’s award warning novel ‘The Sister Brothers’. Despite being upbeat folk, we’re inclined to agree; music should be a touch pensive. We were reminded of/came up with this when stumbling across Essáy‘s ‘Run Away Remix’ of Henry Saiz ‘Fill Me Up’; it really set the goose-bumps off. Madrid-born Henry has long been associated with top DJ John Digweed’s Bedrock Records, on which he released the monstrous ‘Meridian’ with Guy J in late 2011 (the Pryda remix is also a MASSIVE guilty pleasure). Germany based Essáy brings his brand of emotional electronica to the remix here, with great effect. If you’re still recovering from a weekend at Found Festival or some other crazed shenanigans, shift down a gear or two with this shimmering beauty.

Tagged , , ,

REFLEX – Together

Hailing from the South of France, Reflex are a pop duo comprising of Andre Dalcan and Ludmila Cassar. Their new single ‘Together’ is out on Continental Records and is a breezy piece of Balearic goodness. Equipped with an irresistible piano melody and a catchy chorus, we highly recommend you get this one on the download. Your summer hols will thank you for it.

Tagged ,
%d bloggers like this: